The lake house

Standard

You picked it out from far

Far from this sprawling crowd

Of these choices you make

Honey, aren’t you so proud

But there’s a leaky faucet

There he’s running; there’s mister rat

Down the lines of these crooked tiles

Making his way into that shaky closet

So you roll up your sleeves

Lock your hair in a bun

We ain’t too precious for no Jeeves

Our days have just begun

Now I pull down these boxes

You call out hey there wily truckers

Don’t pinch the penny of him

Boys now don’t you dare

Then you wave the change and smile

Wink at me, a sucker

But honey when you’re around

These things I just don’t care

At night tired and weary

On the couch you fall in a heap

I build the fire; pass the cup

Ask if this old light we can keep

You toss and turn; pout your lips

Take in slow and easy sips

Then pull me close; whisper yes

Until in my arms you can sleep

One response »

  1. Manoj….
    this is awesome (as always!)

    Loved the last lines specially…

    “At night tired and weary

    On the couch you fall in a heap

    I build the fire; pass the cup

    Ask if this old light we can keep

    You toss and turn; pout your lips

    Take in slow and easy sips

    Then pull me close; whisper yes

    Until in my arms you can sleep”

    I could visualize; I could feel the love

Leave a Reply

