Addiction

Standard

I met you on a sunny autumn day
Out in the field by the river I lay
Your boat was rocking
In the surging tide
You sought my hand, and girl
I couldn’t resist the urge
But when I stepped in
You wouldn’t tell me your name
Since then we’ve been playing
This blessed wicked game

Now you lift me up; tear me down
Look at me; then turn around
Call me in; and you check out
Here we go; you do it all over again

You read these lines that I pen
Say you know them inside out
Tell me why is it so; why is it then
This thin breeze between us
Drives you wild; makes you doubt
So you storm away
Break me down to bits
I gather up these pieces
Now you can’t do without

So why do you then lift me up; tear me down
Look at me; then turn around
Call me in; and you check out
Promise me; then do it all over again

So I pull away; take the time I need for me
Find a new home with strangers
Be all that I can be
Still deep within, darling
It’s you that I preserve
My friends are right when they tell me
I get what I deserve
So I run to you; a sorry knock on the door
With a smile you open it;
And then slam it shut once more

Now girl please lift me up; tear me down
Look at me; then turn around
Call me in; and check out
Here we go; let’s do this all over again

Leave a Reply

