That old place

Standard

The winter heat dripping down my face

Take a taxi downtown

Return to our old place

Know you come here sometimes

But it ain’t no longer your choice

Running into each other

Still smile and be nice

My fingers make the way

To your falling hair

You see them brush my sleeve

Over that age-old scar

Then you raise your hand

Wish goodbye

There’s a new show in town

Both promise to try

The kiss on my cheek

Frozen with apprehensions

As we walk our way

Through the aisle of pretensions

Cuz now I can’t read your eyes

Can’t understand your sigh

And every word I say

You take it to be a lie

Honey maybe with life

When dreams do collide

Perhaps it’s a given

For this love to subside

Leave a Reply

