A foolish faith…

Standard

I sit by your old picture

On a cold winter night

The sign out is flickering

In our lonely delight

As I count all the change

That was left loose on the counter

Blue lightening tears the sky

I hear the roaring thunder

 

So I step out and pull the plug

Hear them climb down from that truck

I see him walking my way

Their steps shaky and astray

The line’s dead in his pocket

As he holds her so tender

She’s wrapped in his jacket

Love’s woeful surrender

 

He asks me for the last sale

Says all he needs is a prayer

Tonight his love’s dying pale

The price of a crazy dare

He reads the lines on my aging face

Says sir I don’t care for the disgrace

It was a game; not meant ill

Didn’t I ever do what he will

 

Life rolls down his moist eyes

I smile at love’s silly lies

So I turn and pull up the shutter

Watch his face in the dirty puddle

The knife’s shining in his hand

As he drills it from behind

 

Now I fell limp to the floor

And they walked free through the door

But as I watched them raid the till

I lay silent, smiling and still

Think of people who live and die

Go by their days without a honest try

Chasing dreams of kings and gold

When all you need is one to hold

 

So as I rest my eyes heavy

Feel your rain wash through my blood

Might have fell for our foolish faith, honey

‘least I stood for all that we stood

One response »

  1. Beautiful expression in beautiful words..loved it!Especially beautiful were these lines…..

    But as I watched them raid the till

    I lay silent, smiling and still

    Think of people who live and die

    Go by their days without a honest try

    Chasing dreams of kings and gold

    When all you need is one to hold

Leave a Reply

